Roger Martin has been elected as the new President of Banbridge Hockey Club.  Roger succeeds Sheree Totton who has completed her two year term in the role.


Following his election Roger stated; “I’d like to thank the members of Banbridge Hockey Club for putting their support in me for the next two years. It is an honour and privilege to be elected to this position and I look forward to taking the club forward during my term as President.  We have had some fantastic results on and off the pitch in recent years and in particular it will be great to see this season the Ladies 1st XI play in the Premier League for the first time in the clubs’ history; I hope we can continue to build on these achievements.”


Outlining some of the work for the Executive for the year ahead Roger added;” With the club hosting Round 1 of the EHL in October, it will be exciting to bring top clubs and players from all over Europe to Banbridge however, this will require a huge effort by the club and I encourage all our members to volunteer to help out at this great event in whatever capacity they can.  We also strive towards replacing the pitch at Havelock and we will be working hard to fundraise and secure additional funding to make this happen.”


Roger paid tribute to his predecessor Sheree Totton; “Sheree has done a fantastic job over the last two years and I want to pay tribute to her hard work and commitment to the club.  The amount of work that goes on behind the scenes, attending meetings on behalf of the club and working with members is totally underestimated and I would like to thank Sheree for all her efforts during her term in office. ”


Roger also thanked the members of the Executive Committee and particularly Julie Sally who has now stepped down from the Committee.  Julie was Junior Co-Ordinator for several years and led the junior club from strength to strength developing it into one of the most successful junior clubs in Ulster.


The newly elected Executive Committee is as follows:

President: Roger Martin

Vice President: Sheree Totton

Hon. Secretary: John Bell

Hon. Treasurer:  Colin Dowds

Nigel Allister

Jo-Anne Lyttle

Aileen Lawson

Rachel Groves

James Bingham

Karen McConville

Neil Madeley