Congratulations to Drew Carlisle, Stephen Dowds, Eugene Magee & Bruce McCandless all selected for the 18 man Irish squad travelling to the World League 2 tournament in San Diego later this month.  To have 4 players from BHC in this squad is a great achievement. 

The announcement comes on the back of a warm weather training camp last week which saw the Green Machine pitted against the Netherlands, Belgium and South Africa 6 times in 8 days.

Ireland will travel to San Diego on Friday February 20th 2015 ahead of their opening encounter with Chile on Friday 28th February 2015 before facing Austria the following day. The Green Machine will face Italy on Tuesday March 3rd before the Quarter Final stages on Thursday 5th of March. The semi-finals and finals take place on Saturday 7th March and Sunday 8th respectively. Ireland will be the second highest ranked team in the competition and need to finish in the top 3 to progress to World League 3.

The teams’ final preparation for World League 2 comes in the form of France. The men will play 3 matches against France on February 10th, 12th and 13th at 7pm in Three Rock Rovers.

Coach Craig Fulton said ‘The recent training camp in South Africa formed the basis for World league 2 selection given the training sessions and six quality Test matches we played. The depth in the Irish National squad is very healthy so selection is always very difficult.  The 18 selected for WL2 will also play against France next week in Dublin as we continue preparations for San Diego.’

World League 2 Squad

Jonathan Bell – Lisnagarvey

Drew Carlisle – Banbridge

Chris Cargo – Racing

Peter Caruth – Monkstown

Mitch Darling  – Three Rock

Stephen Dowds – Banbridge

David Fitzgerald – Monkstown

Paul Gleghorne – Instonians

Ronan Gormley  – Krefeld

David Harte  – Kampong

Conor Harte – Racing

John Jackson  – Reading

Eugene Magee  – Banbridge

Bruce McCandless  – Banbridge

Shane O Donoghue – Dragons

Kirk Shimmins – UCD

Alan Sothern – Racing

Michael Watt – Surbiton


Non Travelling reserves

Jonny Bruton – Three Rock Rovers

Neal Glassey – Mossley

Kyle Good – Dragons

Mark Ingram – Pembroke Wanderers

James Lorimer – Lisnagarvey

Michael Robson – Annadale