Banbridge Hockey Club elected its first ever lady President in 117 years at its Annual General Meeting held at Havelock Park last night when Sheree Totton was officially voted in as President.

Following her election Sheree stated; I’d like to thank the members for putting their support in me for the next two years. It is an honour to be elected to this position and indeed to become the first lady President of the club. I will strive to follow in the footsteps of my predecessors and take this club forward and I will endeavour to do all I can to work for the benefit of all our members in this great club.”

Sheree was involved in Banbridge Ladies Hockey Club for many years as a player and in more recent times as a coach and umpire. She was a member of the Ladies Club Committee for several years and has held various positions. Following the integration of the Ladies Club with Banbridge Hockey Club in 2012, Sheree was then elected as Vice President of the new Executive Committee.

Sheree paid tribute to her predecessor Neil Madeley; “Neil has done a fantastic job over the last two years as President steering the newly established Executive Committee following the integration of the ladies club and ensuring the new set up worked efficiently. He also played a huge part in bringing the Irish Hockey League Finals weekend to Banbridge this year which was a tremendous success for the club. The amount of work that goes on behind the scenes, attending meetings on behalf of the club and working with members is totally underestimated and I would like to thank Neil for all his efforts during his term in office. ”


Sheree also thanked the members of the Executive Committee and particularly Lee Tumilty and Patrick Grimes for their contribution to the club over the past two years. Both have stepped down from their roles as Treasurer and Grounds and Facilties Co-Ordinator respectively and have been succeeded by Colin Dowds and James Bingham. Neil Madeley remains as a member of the Executive for a further year in the role as Vice President.

The newly elected Executive Committee is as follows:

President: Sheree Totton

Vice President: Neil Madeley

Hon. Secretary: John Bell

Hon. Treasurer:  Colin Dowds

Bar:  Nigel Allister

Senior Hockey:  Douglas Anderson

Junior Hockey:  Julie Sally

Fundraising:  Jo-Anne Lyttle

Communications:  Aileen Lawson

Strategic Planning:  Alison Wilson

Clubhouse and Facilities:  James Bingham