Three Bann Players in Ireland squad

Three Banbridge Hockey Club members have been selected for the Irish Senior Men’s squad for the upcoming tournament in Hamburg against Germany, England and the Netherlands.  Bruce McCandless and Peter Brown return to the squad while Matthew Bell will win his first senior international cap and becomes the 9th current playing member of the club to gain senior international honours.

The team will play in the Hamburg Masters tournament taking place in Germany from 25th July to 28th July 2013 and this will be used to prepare the squad ahead of the TriFinance EuroHockey Championships in Belgium in August.

The full squad is as follows:


Irish Senior Men’s team
1. David HARTE (Kampong) 2. David FITZGERALD (Monkstown) 3. Jonny BELL (Lisnagarvey) 4. Matthew BELL (Banbridge) 5. Conor HARTE (SCHC) 6. John JACKSON (Braxgata) 7. James LORIMER (Lisnagarvey) 8. Peter BROWN (Banbridge) 9. Chris CARGO (Reading Hockey Club) 10. Stephen COLE (Monkstown) 11. Bruce McCANDLESS (Banbridge) 12. Shane O’DONOGHUE (UCD) 13. Mitch DARLING (Three Rock Rovers) 14. Kyle GOOD (Monkstown) 15. Alan SOTHERN (Pembroke Wanderers) 16. Michael WATT (SCHC) 17. David CARSON (Monkstown)
18. Phelie MAGUIRE (THC Hurley)

Hamburg Masters Fixtures

25th July 2013              Ireland v Germany (15:00 local time)

27th July 2013              Ireland v The Netherlands (14:00 local time)

28th July 2013              Ireland v England (12:00 local time)