Banbridge Hockey Club  has been named ‘Club of the Year’ by Ulster Hockey at their Gala awards ceremony  last night as well as picking up numerous other individual and team  awards.

President of Banbridge Hockey Club Neil Madeley stated: “We  are absolutely delighted to have been presented with the much sought after ‘Club  of the Year’ award.  We have had tremendous success this year at the Club with our  Men’s 1st XI winning the Men’s Premier League Keightly Cup,  reaching the semi-finals of the Irish Senior Cup and the final of the Irish  Hockey League. The Ladies 1stXI topped Senior League 2 and our Men’s  2nd XI were Junior 1 champions and runners up in the Irish  Junior Cup.  In addition our Ladies 2nd XI and Men’s 4th XI finished runners up in their respective leagues and  there has been success  for us at Junior Club level with our Under 11 girls and 15 boys also  picking up silverware.  We have also had success off the pitch with  our Junior Club  achieving accreditation through the Ulster Hockey ClubMark  award.”


Mr  Madeley added;  “This  has added to a truly historic season for Banbridge Hockey Club with Ladies  playing under the club name for the first time in the Club’s 116 year history.  To finish the season with so much success across all sections  of the club has surpassed all expectations and the challenge now for us all is to continue  to improve as a club both on and off the  pitch next season.”


The club also picked up  some individual awards on the night.  Gareth Lennox was presented with the  Ulster Hockey Men’s Player of the Year while Steven Dowds won the top goalscorer  award.  Former Bann player Eugene Magee was recognised for becoming  Ireland’s most capped player.


Neil Madeley said:   “On behalf of BHC I would also like  to congratulate Gareth Lennox, Steven Dowds and Eugene Magee on their  achievements.  These players have all made huge contributions to the club  and we are delighted to see them recognised by Ulster Hockey.  Banbridge  Hockey Club  now look forward to preparing for the 2013/14 season and  building on the individual and team successes of this  season. ”