Bann players in Ireland squad

Congratulations to BHC players Bruce McCandless and Peter Brown who have been selected as part of an Ireland 18 man squad for the upcoming FIH World League 2 tournament in India. They are joined by former Bann players Eugene Magee and Geoff McCabe.  This will be Peter Brown’s first cap at this level.

Ireland will begin their World League 2 adventure vs. Bangladesh in New Delhi on 18th February 2013 before facing Fiji, India, Oman and finally China on 24th February 2013.

FIH World League 2 is organised in a round robin format on this occasion and there is no additional medal placing games at this tournament. The 7 top placed teams across the four World League 2 tournaments will join hosts Malaysia in World League 3 in June 2013.

Fixtures are as follows:

18th February 2013 Ireland vs. Bangladesh (16:00 local time)
20th February 2013 Ireland vs. Fiji (16:00 local time)
21st February 2013 Ireland vs. India (20:00 local time)
23rd February 2013 Ireland vs. Oman (18:00 local time)
24th February 2013 Ireland vs. China (16:00 local time)

The full squad is:

1. David Fitzgerald (Monkstown) 2. David Harte (SV Kampong, Holland) 3. Paul Gleghorne (Instonians) 4. Ronan Gormley (Krefeld HC, Germany) 5. Conor Harte (SCHC, Holland) 6. John Jackson (Braxgata, Belgium) 7. Stuart Loughrey (Team Bath Buccaneers) 8. Bruce McCandless (Banbridge) 9. Chris Cargo (Reading, England) 10. Eugene Magee (Krefeld HC, Germany) 11. Geoff McCabe (Santander, Spain) 12. Phelie Maguire (THC Hurley) 13. Peter Brown (Banbridge) 14. Peter Caruth (Braxgata, Belgium) 15. Mitch Darling (Three Rock Rovers) 16. Shane O’Donoghue (UCD) 17. Alan Sothern (Pembroke Wanderers) 18. Michael Watt (SCHC, Holland)


Read more here